Yevgenia Chirikova on Her Kidnapping by Police

http://www.svobodanews.ru/content/article/2118309.html

“I was a witness in the case of the assault on Khimkinskaya Pravda editor-in-chief Mikhail Beketov. Then I went to the police station myself to give testimony. I was also a witness in the murder case of lawyer Stanislav Markelov. Then the investigators called me on my cell phone. I did not receive any summons to the effect that I was a witness in the case of the attack on the Khimki administration building. If the investigators wanted to see me so badly, what prevented them from calling my cell phone? And what prevented them from handing me a summons as I exited the press center, rather than using the OMON to grab me,” asks Yevgenia Chirikov, adding that her arrest resembled a “demonstrative action” directed against environmentalists.

1 Comment

Filed under activism, political repression, Russian society

One response to “Yevgenia Chirikova on Her Kidnapping by Police

  1. Pingback: Social Forum Journey » Why we need solidarity with Russian environmentalists and antifascists

Leave a comment